Weekend Reads Phil Mickelson breaks rules again, this time at Greenbrier

02:05  09 july  2018
02:05  09 july  2018 Source:   msn.com

Tiger Woods' latest performance vaults him up U.S. Ryder Cup team standings

  Tiger Woods' latest performance vaults him up U.S. Ryder Cup team standings Following his T-4 at the Quicken Loans National, Tiger Woods vaults up the U.S. Ryder Cup team standings.Tiger Woods might have finished 10 shots behind Quicken Loans National winner Francesco Molinari, but Tiger's T-4 finish was his second-best of the season and four top-10 performance of the campaign. While it was a fine display, especially given it marked his final tune-up for the Open Championship, Woods' showing also moved him closer to playing in France this fall.

Phil Mickelson broke the rules again , only this time he didn’t realise it until after his violation. Mickelson tamped down grass with his foot in front of the seventh tee on Sunday at A Military Tribute at The Greenbrier in West Virginia.

Phil Mickelson hit with another penalty for rules violation at Greenbrier . Phil Mickelson watches his shot on the 16th hole during the third round of A Military Tribute at The Greenbrier tournament in White Sulphur Springs, WVa.

a man wearing a baseball hat: Phil Mickelson was forced to take a two-stroke penalty for tamping down grass with his foot in front of the seventh tee at The Greenbrier golf tournament in White Sulphur Springs, W. Va. on Sunday © Steve Helber/Associated Press Phil Mickelson was forced to take a two-stroke penalty for tamping down grass with his foot in front of the seventh tee at The Greenbrier golf tournament in White Sulphur Springs, W. Va. on Sunday

WHITE SULPHUR SPRINGS, W.Va. - Phil Mickelson broke the rules again, only this time he didn't realize it until after his violation.

Mickelson tamped down fescue grass with his foot in front of the seventh tee Sunday at A Military Tribute at The Greenbrier in West Virginia. He then called a two-stroke penalty on himself for improving his line of play.

At the U.S. Open last month, Mickelson intentionally violated golf rules by hitting a moving ball on the green in the third round. He later apologized, saying his anger and frustration got the best of him.

On Sunday's gaffe, Mickelson says he "wasn't really thinking." After stepping on the grass, he paused before he hit his tee shot, realized the mistake and checked with a rules official, who confirmed the violation.

Canada's Nick Taylor 2 strokes behind lead in Quad Cities .
Canada's Nick Taylor 2 strokes behind lead in Quad CitiesWheatcroft birdied seven of the last nine holes to finish a shot ahead of Michael Kim.

—   Share news in the SOC. Networks

Topical videos:

This is interesting!